

# KARNATAK LAW SOCIETY'S GOGTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY "Jnan Ganga" UDYAMBAG, BELGAUM-590 008, KARNATAKA (Affiliated to Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belgaum) (APPROVED BY AICTE, NEW DELHI) (ACCREDITED BY NBA, AICTE, NEW DELHI)



Minutes of the meeting of the Governing Council (AICTE) of Gogte Institute of Technology held on Tuesday, February 03, 2015 at 04.00 p.m. in the Governing Council Room of GIT, Udyambag, Belgaum.

#### **Members Present:**

CIIID			
1.	Shri. S.G.Punekar	-	Chairman, Governing Council – GIT
2.	Shri. P.G.Badkundri	-	Member, Governing Council - GIT
3.	Shri. A.G.Kulkarni	-	Member, Governing Council – GIT
4.	Shri. S.G.Adhyapak	-	Member, Governing Council – GIT
5.	Dr. T.V.Govindaraju	-	Member, Governing Council – GIT
6.	Dr. A.S.Deshpande	-	Member Secretary
7.	Dr. V.G.M.Desai	-	Faculty Representative
8.	Shri. S.P.Deshpande	-	Faculty Representative
9.	Shri. D.A.Kulkarni	-	Invitee
10.	Dr. M.S.Patil	-	Invitee

## RESOLUTIONS

1. Considered the ratifications of the appointments of Staff Members made from July 2014 to December 2014. The details of the appointments of Staff Members made from July 2014 to December 2014 were placed before Governing Council. The Chairman and the Members of the Governing Council reviewed and ratified all the appointments. The details of ratified appointments are as under:

	List of Teaching Staff who have joined from 01.07.2014 – 31.12.2014					
Sl. No.	Name of Staff	Branch	Designation	Date of Joining		
1	Ms. Vanishri R. Hundekar	MBA	Asst. Professor	15.07.2014		
2	Mrs. P.N. Navelkar	Arch	Asst. Professor	15.07.2014 (Transferred from VPP )		
3	Ms. Namrata Angadi	Civil	Asst. Professor	01.08.2014		
4	Mr. Manjunath Pattar	Mech	Asst. Professor	02.08.2014		
5	Ms. Veena Badiger	I & P	Asst. Professor	01.08.2014		
6	Mr. Sharanchandra Kusugal	I & P	Asst. Professor	01.08.2014		
7	Mr. Mahendra Patil	Che	Asst. Professor	01.08.2014		
8	Ms. Asavari Jadhav	Arch	Asst. Professor	02.08.2014		
9	Ms. Pooja Talreja	MBA	Asst. Professor	01.08.2014		
10	Mr. Pramod G. Devalatkar	E & E	Asst. Professor	16.08.2014		
11	Mr. Vinay J. Shetty	E & E	Asst. Professor	16.08.2014		
12	Mr. M.B.Kapileshwari	Civil	Asst. Professor	13.08.2014		
13	Mr. Mahesh A.Kori	I & P	Asst. Professor	18.08.2014		

List of Teaching Staff who have joined from 01.07.2014 - 31.12.2014

## Contd. From Page No. 01

r	_	-	-		
14	Ms. Yogita N. Potdar	Mech	Asst. Professor	11.08.2014	
15	Dr. Kiran A. Thabaj	Chemistry	Asst. Professor	01.09.2014	
16	Mrs. Uma G. Hullur	Civil	Asst. Professor	02.09.2014	
17	Mr. Akhil Deshpande	Mech	Asst. Professor	12.09.2014	
18	Ms. Prajakta Patil	Mech	Asst. Professor	12.09.2014	
19	Ms. Swati R. Parakhi	Placement	English Teacher 15.10.201		
List of Non – Teaching Staff who have Joined from 01.07.2014 – 31.12.2014					
1	Mr. S.K.Kulkarni	Office	Registrar	02.07.2014	
2	Mr. Saleel A. Prabhu	I & P	Foreman	15.07.2014	
3	Ms. Rajalaxmi B. Udapudi	Arch	Asst. Instructor	01.09.2014	

- 2. The matter regarding the pending proposal for seeking Autonomous Status from VTU & UGC was discussed in the meeting. The Institute has submitted the application for the grant of autonomous status to VTU on 23.04.2014. GIT has cleared pre-requisites for the grant of autonomous status, as more that 80% of the programmes received permanent affiliation from the University as well as the State Government. The matter is under consideration with Academic Senate and Executive Council of the VTU. The application is also being forwarded to UGC in concurrence with VTU. The application for accreditation has been also being submitted for 05 programmes. Application for NAAC will also be submitted shortly. GC noted the same and it was opined that it would be an advantage for the Institute to go Autonomous on account of various benefits which were discussed in the meeting.
- Principal GIT appraised the Governing Council regarding the preparations for accreditation from NBA and NAAC. Institute has submitted it's application for the NBA accreditation of 05 programmes viz.,
  - 1. Electronics & Communication Engineering
  - 2. Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  - 3. Computer Science & Engineering
  - 4. Mechanical Engineering
  - 5. Civil Engineering

The earliest inspection possible as per the details available on the portal is August 2015. The institute is prepared well for all the assessment parameters defined in accordance with the new norms for accreditation with the focus on outcome based education. As GIT is affiliated institute, the application has been submitted for Tier II category. The preparations are being done for submission of application to NAAC. GC noted the same.

- 4. Considered the ratification of variation in intake approved by AICTE & VTU. In the year 2014-15, the following variation in intake have been approved vide AICTE Letter No. South-West/1-2016835359/2014-15/EOA/Corrigendum-1 dated 10.06.2014 and VTU Letter No. VTU/Aca.Section/20147-15/A-4/8399 dated 07.11.2014:
  - 1. B.E.  $2^{nd}$  Shift Civil Engineering 60 to 00
  - 2. B.E.  $2^{nd}$  Shift Electrical & Electronics Engineering 60 to 00
  - 3. M.Tech. Environmental Engineering 18 to 00
  - 4. Increase in intake of Civil Engineering from 60 to 120
  - 5. Increase in intake of Electrical & Electronics Engineering 60 to 120
  - 6. Increase in M.Tech. Computer Science & Engineering 18 to 24

GC approves and noted the same.

- 5. Considered the matter regarding the formation of Academic Council and other bodies as per the requirement of Norms for Autonomous Institutions. As per the norms for the Autonomous Institutes, various bodies/committees are to be formed as under:
  - 1. Governing Body Already formed as per the prescribed guidelines
  - 2. Academic Council The prescribed composition is as under:
  - It is hereby resolved to form the Academic Council as under:

1	Principal	Chairman	
2	All the Heads of Departments in the College	Members	
3	Four teachers of the college representing different levels of teaching staff by rotation on the basis of seniority of service in the college, to be nominated by the Principal	Members	
4	Not less than four experts from outside the College representing such areas as Industry, R&D Labs, Technical Education to be nominated by the Governing Body	Members	<ul> <li>✓ Representative from TCS</li> <li>✓ Representative from Quest/AEQUS</li> <li>✓ Representative from Medicine – Dr. Mahadev Dixit</li> <li>✓ Representative from Education – Dr. Karunakarn, IIT Bombay, Dr. T.Venkatesh, Department of Mathematics – RCU</li> <li>✓ Dr. D.Tukaram, Dept. of E&amp;E, IISc</li> </ul>

Contd. On Page No. 04

Contd. From Page No. 03

5	Three Nominees of the University	Members			
6	A Faculty Member, Nominated by the Principal	Members Secretary	Dean Academics		

The term of the nominated members would be for 02 years and Principal shall convene the meeting once in every year. The Chairman, GC is authorized to nominate the Member for the formation of other committees, including finance, in accordance with the norms of UGC.

GC opined that the request be sent to all these experts and seek their acceptance/concurrence regarding their appointment on Academic Council.

The Meeting ended with the Thanks to the Chairman and the Members of the Governing Council.

#### Sd/-(Shri. S.G.Punekar) Chairman of the Meeting, Governing Council – GIT

To: The Chairman/Members of GC (AICTE) of GIT